36. Climb to the top of Grey’s Monument!

Anyone who has read my blog in its entirety (I think that’s essentially my mum, Neil and Molly – thanks guys!) may recall that a while ago (blog post 22) I wrote about eating lunch on the steps of Grey’s Monument. I did this because I really wanted to include the Monument in my blog and I had missed my chance last summer to buy tickets to climb it. These tickets are honestly like gold dust – they only cost £4, but it’s only open around 8 weekends a year with a small number of tickets available each weekend. 

I’ve tried every year since moving here to get the tickets and failed every time until this summer when I put an alarm on my phone for the day they went on sale. Even then we still almost missed our chance when there was an admin error at the other side – thankfully they not only sorted this out, but actually gave us our tickets for free – cheers guys! Anyone else looking to do this (and you really should) the tickets go on sale on this website: 

http://www.shopnewcastlegateshead.com/tickets/greys-monument/

Obviously they are all sold out for this year, but it’s well worth keeping an eye out for when they’ll be on sale for next year!

We made our way to Monument at midday today, scrambled through a tiny little door in its side and clambered our way up a 164 step spiral staircase before reaching the top. I am normally okay with heights, but I felt seriously dizzy when we first got up there and had to kind of casually cling to the side whilst pretending I was absolutely fine.

Luckily my little spell of fear calmed down pretty soon and I was able to enjoy the incredible views of our beautiful city. I chatted a lot about the history of the Monument and about Earl Grey in my other Monument blog so in this one I’m just going to let you all enjoy the views too!

Tiny doorway…
So many stairs!

Leave a Reply

