37. Shop around in Grainger Market

Situated in a Grade 1 building in the centre of Newcastle, Grainger Market first opened in October 1835 as the biggest market in all of Europe. Back then it was divided into a flesh market (butchers) and a vegetable market. Shoppers can still get their meat and veg there today, but can also enjoy a vast range of other stores and eateries – over 100 in total. Notable amongst the stores are the world’s smallest Marks and Spencer store – the  ‘Marks and Spencer Original Penny Bazaar’ – and thehistorical  Weigh House. The Weigh House was  originally used back in the 19th century for stall holders and customers to weigh their products. Today, however, it has changed its purpose just slightly and is used instead for customers to weigh themselves! 


I have been to Grainger Market a fair few times –  I went to their Christmas event last December and have popped in for lunch a couple of times too. What I very rarely do, however, is actually go there to do my shopping. Although I like to think of myself as the sort of person who shops at markets and independent stores the reality is that the vast majority of the time I, like so many others, fail to resist the convenience of a large supermarket. For this week, however, I decided to change that and, along with my friend Bridie, headed there with £30 and my weekly shopping list to see what I could get.

Today, as on the other rare occasions I have completed my food shop outside of a supermarket, I was reminded of just how satisfying it is to food shop in a proper traditional market. People actually chat to you for a start and you get that feel-good glow about the fact that you are shopping locally from independent retailers rather than giving your money to enormous corporations.

We made brief stops at a butchers and fishmongers and a lengthier one at a greengrocers where I bought everything seen below for just £7.00 and had a lovely chat with the owner of the stall who, in true Geordie style, called me “love” or “pet” at every opportunity. God I love Newcastle.


We also had a wander to a cheese store where I pretty much wanted to buy everything in the shop (I have a serious thing for cheese) but, sensily albeit reluctantly, left only with some Parmesan. The final item on my list was chorizo which I picked up in a very pretty Spanish delicatesen pictured below.


Bridie and I had planned to buy our lunch in the market too and were seriously tempted by pretty much every café/eaterie we wandered past. Crepes, pizza and Sloppy Joes were all strong contenders, but we eventually settled on some  mixed dumplings and a cup of Jasmine tea each.


I’d been to Grainger Market more recently than Bridie and it was great to go with someone who was seeing it through fresh eyes. She confessed to me that not having been since she was a child she always kind of thought of it as a “butchers and big knickers kind of place” and, returning as an adult, was now incredible impressed with all it had to offer. We were both eager to return and try out some more of the food on offer and whilst I can’t pretend that I am likely to begin to complete my food shop at Grainger Market on a weekly basis, I am going to make a significant effort to do it a lot more often than I have previously.

Leave a Reply

