25. Take a helicopter ride!

I expected to do many things when I began this blog. Something I didn’t anticipate doing, however, was taking a helicopter ride over Newcastle. Isn’t life great?

I’ve wanted to ride in a helicopter for a while now; it’s on my “pre 30 bucketlist” – and so, aware of this, my lovely parents bought me a “buzz flight” with Northumbria Helicopters for my last birthday. I booked it for today and this afternoon headed to Newcastle Airport to take to the skies. 

After a journey involving several forbidding signs and getting lost a couple of times, we eventually found the helicopter headquarters and, after a very short safety briefing, were able to sit and watch the planes and helicopter take off for a while before my flight. 

I shared my helicopter ridewith a lovely couple who handled the cheerful words my seven year old nephew, Cori, sent us away with very well..

“Bye, Annie, I hope you don’t fall out and die!”

Thanks, mate.

Fortunately I survived to tell the tale and if ever I somehow become insanely rich will travel by helicopter much more frequently. It was bloody great. As it was a buzz flight I was literally in the air for ten minutes. This was still enough time to give me the opportunity to enjoy some incredible views but if I ever get the chance to take a longer flight I’ll definitely do it!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑